Open Source Program
Documentation.AI gives open source projects its Pro plan for free. Any project with an OSI-approved license and a public repository can apply, including the ones a company backs.
Free Pro plan · OSI-approved license · Company-backed projects welcome
Who can apply
An OSI-approved license
MIT, Apache 2.0, GPL, BSD, MPL, or any other license the Open Source Initiative approves.
A public repository
The project lives in a public repository on GitHub or GitLab.
Company-backed projects welcome
Docs for the open source project are free, whoever funds it. Docs for a paid or hosted product built on it need a regular plan.
Any maintainer can apply
Volunteers, foundations and the company behind a project apply the same way: one email.
What the program includes
The full Pro plan
Every Pro feature: automations, an MCP server and llms.txt, versions and languages, Git sync with preview sites, and Ask AI.
30,000 AI credits a month
About 3,000 Ask AI answers a month at 10 credits each. Half of any unspent credits carry over to the next cycle.
Unlimited editor seats
A seat for every maintainer. Contributors need none: they propose changes with a pull request.
Four documentation projects
Separate sites for the core project, an SDK, a plugin or an API reference, all on one plan.
Help moving your docs
Priority migration support for docs coming from Mintlify, GitBook, Docusaurus or anywhere else.
A private Slack channel
Priority support from the team in a shared Slack channel once your docs are live.
How to join
Apply
Email supportdocumentation.ai with two links: your project’s public repository, and its license’s page on the Open Source Initiative site.
We review it
We check the license and the repository, then reply by email with your next step.
Move your docs across
Pro includes priority migration support for docs coming from Mintlify, GitBook, Docusaurus or anywhere else.
Mintlify OSS Program and GitBook Community, compared
| Documentation.AIApply for free | Mintlify | GitBook | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Eligibility and terms | |||
| Plan you get | Pro | Pro | Ultimate, minus SAML SSO |
| Company-backed or VC-funded projects | Eligible | Not eligible | Not eligible |
| Project types excluded | None | None listed | Crypto, gaming, religious, political, others |
| Ads on your docs | None | None | Optional, on a Sponsored site |
| How you apply | One email, two links | Typeform | Email or chat support |
| AI | |||
| AI credits a month | 30,000 | 10,000 | 10,000* |
| Credits per AI answer | 10 | 25 | 20 |
| AI answers a month | About 3,000 | About 400 | About 500 |
| Custom and scheduled automations | Enterprise only | Not listed | |
| External sources for the AI assistant | Enterprise only | ||
| Docs MCP server and llms.txt | |||
| Publishing and access | |||
| Editor seats | Unlimited | Unlimited | Not stated |
| Private docs behind JWT or OAuth login | Enterprise only | ||
| Role-based permissions | Enterprise only | ||
| PDF export | Enterprise only | ||
| Preview sites | |||
| Support | |||
| Support channel | Private Slack channel | Slack on Enterprise only | Priority email |
| Migration services | Enterprise only | Enterprise only | |
| Eligibility and terms | |
|---|---|
| Plan you get | Pro |
| Company-backed or VC-funded projects | Eligible |
| Project types excluded | None |
| Ads on your docs | None |
| How you apply | One email, two links |
| AI | |
| AI credits a month | 30,000 |
| Credits per AI answer | 10 |
| AI answers a month | About 3,000 |
| Custom and scheduled automations | |
| External sources for the AI assistant | |
| Docs MCP server and llms.txt | |
| Publishing and access | |
| Editor seats | Unlimited |
| Private docs behind JWT or OAuth login | |
| Role-based permissions | |
| PDF export | |
| Preview sites | |
| Support | |
| Support channel | Private Slack channel |
| Migration services | |
| Eligibility and terms | |
|---|---|
| Plan you get | Pro |
| Company-backed or VC-funded projects | Not eligible |
| Project types excluded | None listed |
| Ads on your docs | None |
| How you apply | Typeform |
| AI | |
| AI credits a month | 10,000 |
| Credits per AI answer | 25 |
| AI answers a month | About 400 |
| Custom and scheduled automations | Enterprise only |
| External sources for the AI assistant | Enterprise only |
| Docs MCP server and llms.txt | |
| Publishing and access | |
| Editor seats | Unlimited |
| Private docs behind JWT or OAuth login | Enterprise only |
| Role-based permissions | Enterprise only |
| PDF export | Enterprise only |
| Preview sites | |
| Support | |
| Support channel | Slack on Enterprise only |
| Migration services | Enterprise only |
| Eligibility and terms | |
|---|---|
| Plan you get | Ultimate, minus SAML SSO |
| Company-backed or VC-funded projects | Not eligible |
| Project types excluded | Crypto, gaming, religious, political, others |
| Ads on your docs | Optional, on a Sponsored site |
| How you apply | Email or chat support |
| AI | |
| AI credits a month | 10,000* |
| Credits per AI answer | 20 |
| AI answers a month | About 500 |
| Custom and scheduled automations | Not listed |
| External sources for the AI assistant | |
| Docs MCP server and llms.txt | |
| Publishing and access | |
| Editor seats | Not stated |
| Private docs behind JWT or OAuth login | |
| Role-based permissions | |
| PDF export | |
| Preview sites | |
| Support | |
| Support channel | Priority email |
| Migration services | Enterprise only |
Competitor terms are from mintlify.com/oss-program, mintlify.com/pricing, gitbook.com/pricing and the GitBook Community plan documentation, checked 5 November 2026. Mintlify’s program gives its Pro plan, so features its pricing lists for Enterprise are not part of it. *GitBook publishes no credit allowance for the Community plan; the figure is its Ultimate allowance. “Not listed” means the pricing page does not list the feature. Answers a month divide each plan’s credits by what one answer costs.
Frequently asked questions
What maintainers ask before they apply.
Who can apply?
Any project with an OSI-approved license and a public repository on GitHub or GitLab. Volunteer, foundation and company-backed projects can all apply. To apply, email us a link to the repository and a link to its license on the Open Source Initiative site.
Can a company-backed or VC-funded project join?
Yes. Docs for the open source project itself are free on Pro. Docs for a paid or hosted product built on it need a regular plan. Mintlify’s and GitBook’s programs both exclude company-backed projects.
How is this different from the Mintlify OSS Program?
Three ways. Mintlify’s program turns away company-backed and VC-funded projects, and this one accepts them. Pro here gives 30,000 AI credits a month at 10 an answer, about 3,000 answers, where Mintlify’s gives 10,000 at 25, about 400. And automations, private docs behind a login, role-based permissions, PDF export and migration services are part of Pro here, where Mintlify keeps them for Enterprise.
What does the program cost?
Nothing. Accepted projects get the Pro plan at no cost, with unlimited editor seats, four documentation projects and 30,000 AI credits a month.
What happens if the project runs out of AI credits?
Ask AI and the Documentation Agent pause until the next 30-day cycle, or until you top up. Your docs stay published and editable, there is no overage billing, and half of any unspent credits carry over to the next cycle.
Do contributors need a Documentation.AI account?
No. Docs live as Markdown and MDX in your repository with two-way Git sync, so anyone can propose a change with a pull request. Maintainers who prefer the web editor get unlimited seats.
Can you help us move from Mintlify, GitBook or Docusaurus?
Yes. Content moves as files, OpenAPI specs import directly, and Pro includes priority migration support. Tell us where your docs live today when you apply.
Are there ads on program docs?
No. The program adds no ads to your documentation.
Apply to the Open Source Program
One email, two links · Company-backed projects welcome